Welcome Guest  |  Login  |  Forum Registration

needle keeps sliding across the vinyl

{name}

gjango 11:28:10 - 07 December 2013

yeah guy and girls,  i’m new to the game as in 2 week s old , so i’m a new born.
i just bought sl2 and a pair of ortofons s-120 om cartridges,  that i got for a pair of stanton tables.
now this is my problem…... i played around with them last weekend and everything was fine ....
i turned everything on yesterday and one of the needles would not stay on the vinyl and when i did i would not play properly through my sl2, can someone PLEASE tell me let me know what this problem can b, i’m thinking something is wrong with that needle…

Detroitbb

Detroitbb 12:41:55 - 07 December 2013

Could you have broken (or even bent) the stylus/cantilever? Check both closely and see if there is a difference between the two.

{name}

gjango 2:13:07 - 07 December 2013

Its very possible , but i cant see any deffrence between the two everything looks the same as far as i can tell….

Detroitbb

Detroitbb 6:57:43 - 07 December 2013

Try switching the cartridge to the other turntable and see if the problem migrates too.

By the way, is your turntable properly setup? Tonearm height, proper weight adjustment, correct anti-skating setting, and a perfectly level turntable are all things to double check.

{name}

gjango 7:17:40 - 07 December 2013

I tried switching the cartridges from turntable to turntable no luck there, i also tried adjusting the weights , but i’m not totally sure on how to adjust them to tell the truth, when the weight is heavy enough not to slide on the vinyl , it does not play properly through the SL2….
so i just cant say..

Shaun Whitcher Rane Forum Admin

ADMIN
Shaun Whitcher 7:44:44 - 07 December 2013

Adjust the anti-skating dial on your turntable, if there is one and see if it helps. On 1200s, the dial goes from 1 - 10 and in most cases you set it to 1 or 2.

{name}

gjango 8:06:11 - 07 December 2013